After four days of great events and activities including the Opening Ceremony, Masterclass class with Christian Epps, the African Film market and panel sessions, and the Blackstar Music Concert (BMC), the Yaa Asantewaa Awards Night 2019 happened on 24th August, 2019 at the Snap Cinema inside the Accra Metropolitan Assembly Headoffice.

It was a night of fun with cultural, musical and poetry performances attended by diplomats, actors, film directors, film lovers and several industry players from in and outside Ghana.

The Black Star International Film Festival wishes to once again congratulate all filmmakers whose films made it to the 2019 Official selection list and particularly those who won awards on the night.

Below is the list of winners at the Yaa Asantewaa Awards 2019:

Best Documentary (USA) The money Stone by Stuart Harmon

Best Feature (USA) The House Invictus by Uche Aguh

Best Short (GHANA) Nirvana by Richard Governor Owusu

Women in Film (NIGERIA) Oriki by Nkiru Njoku

Best Student Film (SOUTH AFRICA) Nomvula by Jason Maselle and Advik Beni

Africa Rising (GERMANY) Divine419: Hawkers Hustle by Johannes Krug

Best Animation ( GHANA) Azumah:The Ghanaian Hero by Nii Ofei Kyei Dodoo (Indegene BROS)